How to clean your windows – mess free and streak free!!

IMG_0112

I am ashamed to say that, when faced with the daily chores of cooking, cleaning, washing and running round after a three year old, cleaning the windows has regularly (no… always!) come bottom of my list of things to do. That doesn’t mean I haven’t noticed how filthy they’ve become – it’s inevitable, living on a busy main road with lots of traffic fumes, and having a toddler and dog regularly pressing their noses, mouths (and tongues!) up against the glass. It just means that on a daily basis I choose to ignore the fact that the glass is more translucent than transparent  and try to convince myself that nobody really notices it anyways!

Well, it turns out that when your next door neighbour decides to hire a window cleaner, someone does end up noticing how filthy your windows are! Thankfully he didn’t knock on the door and say, “Hi! I just noticed how filthy your windows are – would you like me to clean them for you?” (Although I wouldn’t have blamed him if he had!) He very politely offered his services to us at a price we couldn’t refuse. I was gobsmacked at the results! I wish I could say the result was clean windows – well, they were on the outside, but I suddenly noticed how dirty they were on the inside!

One of the reasons I’ve been put off cleaning the inside of the windows is because I’ve never had good results in the past. If I tried using ‘Windowlene’ with a dry, clean cloth I would still end up with streaks. Or if I used soapy water and a squeedgy it would always make such a mess.

Recently I’ve discovered the magic of microfibre cloths. When I was first introduced to them I thought they were just another gimmick. They say you can use them with just water and won’t leave any streaks, but do they really? I started using them to wipe down my kitchen counters and noticed how polished my glass hob looked after using them. So I then decided to keep one in the bathroom and see how good they were at keeping the shower screen clean – we have a glass shower screen and started using it every day with brilliant results. So this was when I decided to take the plunge and have a go at cleaning the inside windows with just water and a microfibre cloth. I have to say the results were stunning! There was no mess as I just wrung out the cloth before I started cleaning, and amazingly no streaks either!! I can honestly say we have never had such clean windows since living in this house (I won’t say when we last cleaned them and please don’t ask! ha ha!)

Inevitably minutes after the windows had been cleaned the dog decided to press her nose up against the glass watching my daughter play outside, who in turn ran up to the window pressing her mouth against it and starting ‘blowing raspberries’! :/

Here’s to clean’ish’ windows!

 

6 thoughts on “How to clean your windows – mess free and streak free!!

  1. I’ve always just used kitchen roll with supermarket-brand window cleaner and have never had a problem with streaks. This is a much more eco-friendly way of doing things, though!

  2. Haha, such a timely post! I cleaned our glass door that leads from the kitchen to the back porch (hence, it is ALWAYS nasty with toddler hand-streaks and food oils) and not 15 minutes later he (the toddler) wipes his hand all over it again! 🙄
    Thanks for the tip about the cloths!

  3. Microfibre cloths are amazing, I use them for pretty much every cleaning job, and they’re great for dusting too, they don’t leave fluff behind like some traditional dusters. When they first came out they were about £6 – £8 a cloth, but they are so incredibly cheap now and they never seem to wear out either!

    A few years ago I tried a microfibre face cloth – not good, it felt like I was using a chamois leather, (very difficult to move) and it nearly tore my skin apart, left my face very sore. Which is probably why I’ve never seen one since, much better for the house! 🙂

Leave a Reply

