A Very British Summer

image

Today is a very brief post due to the lack of sleep had by all thanks to a terrential thunderstorm. Yet the photo above is proof that the sun did shine on our holiday.

That’s the thing about British weather. In any normal country you’d wake up in the morning, see a threatening grey sky, watch the rain pelting down and think, ‘I’ll wear my jeans and wellies today. That would be sensible.’ But, no, today I walked around Stoke on Trent in scorching sunny weather wearing heavy jeans and muddy wellies. Why? Because this is the UK. And when the weather forecast says rain, it inevitably doesn’t mean it.

My husband says I need to feel more of the British optimism when it comes to summer weather. I say I need more accurate weather forecasts!

Leave a Reply

