A day in the life of a camping toddler…

image

I was so excited to wake up this morning in my ‘Night Garden’ bed inside our new blue tent! I yelled for Mummy and Daddy because I knew they’d be just as excited. Mummy was in a big bed right next to me. She wasn’t smiling like I was so Daddy got up instead and we had Weetabix for breakfast. Daddy likes Weetabix. It’s his favourite. He thinks it’s my favourite too, but Cheerios are my real favourite breakfast.

It was still a little bit dark outside but I didn’t mind. I really wanted to go to the park and play on the slide but Daddy said it was too wet because it had been raining, so instead we went running round the campsite looking at all the tents and collecting lots of different leaves that the wind had blown off the trees. Nobody else was out like me and Daddy. I wondered where everybody was.

When we got back to the tent I went to wake up Mummy. She was smiling now so I gave her a kiss.

After Mummy had her breakfast we drove in the car to a great big lake. It wasn’t very far away and Mummy said we probably could have walked it. I liked all the stones on the ground where we left the car. They made a funny noise when I ran on them.

We walked all round the lake (Daddy said it was a nature reserve). I like walking a lot, but I was really tired this morning so I kept asking Mummy to carry me. Then I thought I wanted to walk so Mummy put me down. Eventually Mummy said no so Daddy carried me instead.

We saw lots of ducks at the nature reserve. The ducks followed us round. Mummy said they probably thought we were going to give them bread but all our bread was in the tent. We also saw some white butterflies, busy bees on purple flowers and a really big dragon fly! Then we went back to the tent to have lunch so I said bye bye to the white stones.

After lunch we went to a town. It was different to the town I usually go to with Mummy. This town had really narrow pavements and Mummy got cross with me when I wouldn’t hold her hand when there was a big lorry driving on the road next to us. So Mummy said I had to go in my red buggy, i didn’t want to go in my red buggy so I held her hand.

At the town (Daddy said it was called Ashbourne) there was a really big tunnel and we went inside it and shouted noises. I liked it a lot because I could hear my own voice coming back to me. It was called an echo.

image

I like hearing my own voice. I like talking a lot. Sometimes I like saying the same thing over and over again like, ‘What’s that, Mummy?’ or ‘Daddy, what you doing?’ After I’ve said it lots I sometimes start shouting it because Mummy and Daddy don’t seem to hear me.

Mummy made pasta for tea. I like pasta. I also like helping Mummy make tea. It’s much easier than at home because I can reach all the food and all the pans in the tent. I got out all the spaghetti to play with but Mummy said it wasn’t a toy. So I thought it would be more helpful to turn the nobs on the cooker…it turns out that wasn’t helpful either. So Daddy and I played with my sticker book whilst Mummy made tea.

After tea time Daddy put my bedtime nappy on and my pyjamas. I don’t know why because he said we were all going to the shop to buy cake. I liked it at the big yellow shop. I ran round with Daddy whilst Mummy picked things off the shelves. I started singing ‘My God is so big, so strong and so mighty.’ Daddy smiled at me so I sang it again with my big voice like in the tunnel in town so I could hear my echo. Then Daddy stopped smiling so I stopped singing.

In the car on the way back to the tent I kept asking Mummy and Daddy, ‘See tent? Back to Mummy, Daddy and my tent?’ It was taking a long time to get there. Then Daddy said, ‘Go to sleep.’ So I said in a big voice so he knew I wasn’t tired, ‘No thanks!’ Then Daddy smiled for some reason and said, ‘Close your eyes.’ He clearly hadn’t got the message, so I said in an even bigger voice, ‘No! Open da eyes!’ Mummy made a funny noise after I said that. They really…. don’t seem…to…*yawn*….understand….that…..I’m. ……..just………..not………*yawn*……

image

3 thoughts on “A day in the life of a camping toddler…

Leave a Reply

