Home made chicken nuggets – tasty!

IMG_2376

I was so proud of myself this evening for making home made chicken nuggets for the first time! I’ve always wanted to try them out. I’ve never been tempted to buy the frozen variety of chicken nuggets that you can buy in the supermarket. In fact I’m not a fan of any kind of processed food – at all! To me it’s tasteless, nutrition-less and full of junk that shouldn’t be going any where near my family’s mouths! The problem is so many kids LOVE chicken nuggets. So I figured if I could make my own, then my daughter won’t need to feel deprived of a universal children’s favourite food.

My daughter has never been keen on eating meat. She enjoys sausages and bacon, but whenever she’s tasted any other meat she’s just spat it out. So tonight was the first time she actually ate chicken! In her own words she said, “Mmmmmm, nice nice nice nice nice niiiiiiiice!” So I think she liked it!

I based my recipe on the one I found here http://tinyurl.com/n9hv88w but I prefer to use egg instead of melted butter for coating the chicken.

Home made Chicken Nuggets

  • 3 skinless, boneless chicken breast fillets
  • 125g dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 teaspoon Italian dried herbs
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 50g grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Plain flour for coating the chicken
  • 2 eggs beaten

Preheat the oven to 200 C. Cut the chicken breasts into 3-4 cm chunks.

To make the breadcrumbs I just blitzed up some fresh brown bread. I rarely have stale bread in the house for making bread crumbs so I find fresh bread is just fine.

IMG_2368

Mix together the bread crumbs, dried herbs, thyme, parmesan and salt.

IMG_2370

Next, dip the chicken in the flour, then the egg and then the bread crumb mixture. Make sure the chicken is really well coated. Place all the nuggets on a baking try and bake for 20 minutes.

IMG_2373

I served them with home made chips and peas. I prefer to make my own chips and I don’t like to use a deep fat frier. Shallow frying them in sunflower oil for me is preferable because it means I’m always cooking our chips in fresh oil.

IMG_2378

These chicken nuggets were definitely a huge hit with my family. They can easily be frozen too which then makes it a really quick and easy meal for another night.

3 thoughts on “Home made chicken nuggets – tasty!

Leave a Reply

